we all grow up…right?

Dennis Hopper is 74.

this fact stared stared up at me from the Time Magazine.  immediately, i felt a sort of sting as i did the math and remembered that my grandma was about the same age, and then i thought of the movie, Speed, and couldn’t remember if he really looked that old.  and also noted that i was only in junior high when i saw it.

and Chevy Chase is 67, but for the life of me i can’t get his character in Christmas Vacation out of my head, which means, to me, he will always be a middle-aged man, slim and active.

i stand in front of mirror and straighten my hair, and look into the face of an almost 28-year-old, and think about age.

what is old, anyway?
how do you know when you’re there?

it’s not an understatement to say that our class is having serious relational issues, and most of them stem from a lack of maturity.  we all grow up, right?  but what if age doesn’t really signify anything?  what if being older doesn’t really mean that we are any more “grown up” than anyone else?

One thought on “we all grow up…right?

  1. Bryan always says, “I may grow old, but I’ll never grow up” – live life to the fullest – no regrets. (and I think Dennis Hopper is dead )

Leave a Reply

